Easter Celebrations!

We had a wonderful Easter this year!  We had the privilege of hosting the Beery Family Easter Celebration in our home!  I always like to decorate a little and try to incorporate meaning into my decor.  This year I took an idea I saw on Pinterest and followed another bloggers instructions for Resurrection Eggs.  Guests open each egg in order, read a scripture, and find a symbol that represents each part of the Easter Story.  While eggs were hidden in the back yard, I brought the kids into the dining room and they took turns opening the eggs and reading the scripture.  My mother-in-law helped the little ones read the verses.

I hope to pull these out year after year to help our kids learn the Easter Story – the gospel!  I was listening to a John Piper podcast today and was reminded how important it is to teach our children what the Bible says and who Jesus is.  Piper started in Judges 2 and pointed out how the people walked in the way of the Lord all the days of Joshua, but once he died (at 110 years old!!) the next generation did not follow God.  Chris and I aren’t parents yet, God willing we will be one day.  Despite not having children of our own yet, I still feel the responsibility and calling to instil the things of the Lord in my nieces and nephews.  I love them each so deeply and pray that each of them come to know Jesus as their Lord and Savior and serve God one day on their own accord.

Thanks to the pinner who lead me to the blog with the Resurrection Egg instructions!  It’s encouraging to see others intentionally adding meaning to a meal with family and friends – and its nice to not have to reinvent the wheel and being able to share ideas.

What creative ideas did you incorporate this Easter that added meaning into your celebrations?

Here is a slide show with the table decor and Resurrection Eggs as well as some snapshots from our family celebration of Jesus, our Savior, who lived a perfect life so that he would be an acceptable sacrifice to pay the debt for all of our sins!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

